I’d Say “I Do” All Over Again!

Click on photo for credits

To our children our 31 years of marriage probably seems rather long.  To me, however, it seems like just yesterday.  And there’s nothing about my marriage to Bob that I would change.

Perhaps one or two things I’d change.  If you’ve read “My Gutsy Story” on Sonia Marsh’s blog, Gutsy Living, you know what I mean.  And it would have been nice to have been able to have a bit longer honeymoon.  But these are minor details in the larger picture.

Bob and I sensed that our meeting and subsequent marriage were pre-ordained.  Raised in the church, we both had grown into committed members of the church and in our faith.  Something drew us together through the choir in the church where we both attended.  Four months after meeting, we had agreed to marriage.  And about 30 days later, August 15, 1981, we exchanged vows and rings.

Of the marriage relationship, God has much to say but my favorite verses are:

Marriage should be honored by everyone,
and husband and wife should keep their marriage pure.
Hebrews 13:4 (NCV)

Marry and have sons and daughters; find wives for your sons
and give your daughters in marriage, so that they too may have sons and daughters. Increase in number there; do not decrease.
Jeremiah 29:6 (NIV)

The husband should fulfill his marital duty to his wife,
and likewise the wife to her husband.
1 Corinthians 7:4 (NIV)

I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem,
coming down out of heaven from God,
prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.
Revelations 21:2 (NIV)

On the day I said “I do,” I committed to love, honor, and yes, obey, as old-fashioned as it seems.  I committed to stand beside Bob in sickness and in health, in wealth and poverty, in good times and bad (and we had our share of those).

Not once has Bob failed me in his vows, having cared for me through some difficult surgeries, maintaining not only my care but the care of our home and doing it well.  Showing just how he loved me in his actions during difficult times.

When people, mostly young women, ask me what it is that makes me know how deep Bob’s love goes for me, there’s a simple response I give time and again.

I feel cherished.

Happy anniversary, dear Bob, love of my life, light of my world and my best friend.

Linking up with Jennifer at:

 

10 thoughts on “I’d Say “I Do” All Over Again!

  1. Happy Anniversary, Sherrey! Your anniversary is one day after ours, and you were married 10 years after we were married. So glad I came over here tonight to notice your anniversary!

    Like

    • Cherry, isn’t amazing that we’re one day apart and also ten years apart? August is a wonderful month in which to marry, and tonight to celebrate God’s goodness to us! So glad you came by and sending wishes for your anniversary and another year of wedded bliss!

      Like

  2. Happy Anniversary Sherrey, 31 years is definitely a milestone to celebrate. I had my 22nd this year, and every year is better. So honored to have you as part of the Redemptions Beauty community, thanks for the follow.

    Like

    • Shelly, thanks for the gracious comments on my anniversary message. Isn’t it wonderful that each year gets better? I’m enjoying your community and posts. Hope to get to know you better.

      Like

    • Jennifer, thanks for stopping by! And thanks for the happy anniversary wish . . . hard to believe it’s been 31 years filled with blessings and each other, but God makes it so. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.