A Sound Among the Trees by Susan Meissner (ISBN 978030745885-8))

After reviewing my last book for WaterBrook Multnomah and allowed the opportunity to choose my next book, I intentionally chose Susan Meissner’s A Sound Among the Trees for a variety of reasons:

  • I hadn’t read one of her works before and am always on the lookout for new authors to read;
  • I love Civil War history and historical fiction centered around the Civil War; and
  • I heard that Meissner’s works were good reading.

And I was not disappointed in the least.

Meissner has captured the essence of old plantations and the mystery that often shrouds families for generation after generation.

And as with all family history and stories, tales are told and retold.  In the retelling, facts become altered and the tale is changed forever by each telling.

At Hollow Oak, this is the case.  The central character, Susannah, has been dead for many years and it is her history that has been misunderstood for generations.  Her story impacts each generation flowing from her.

In the end one of her descendants is renewed and refreshed in an amazing change of heart and the true story found out.

This is a book and writer I can highly recommend.

I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. 
 * * *

Read an excerpt from this book.
Read about the author.
View a short video about this book.

 

 

