Changing Seasons

Because our summer started late, we’re still enjoying spectacular days.  Temps in the upper 80s, sun blazing down on dry earth, tomatoes still ripening, sprinkler systems running all times of the day and night.

Photo Credit

No longer are we required to pack children off to school.  The routine doesn’t change much from day-to-day, or season to season, when you’re retired.

And yet some things do change.  Tonight husband Bob heads back to weekly choir practice.  Soon he begins three rehearsals a week for three different bands.

And I’ve been busily working on some seasonally sensitive deadlines today in addition to some writing deadlines facing me.

Our Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) group starts up in three weeks.  Plenty to do there organizing notebooks, calendaring items, making sure I’ve done all my tasks to make this year a success.

We’re volunteering in the big media awareness push sponsored by the Lewy Body Dementia Association.  Lots of contacts to make, press release to circulate to TV and radio stations and newspapers, dotting my i’s and crossing my t’s here.  We want success for this drive for awareness.  And it’s our first time to volunteer for a nationwide program like this one.

And, of course, the mind wanders to all the things that are necessary  to winterize the home and yard.  Our weather forecast predicts rain next week.  We’re hoping it’s not the kind that once it begins it just shoves its way on through fall and winter.  Usually that kind of rain doesn’t let up until June.  It makes for a real contrast between what today is and what that could turn these last summer days into.

Photo Credit

No need to fret over changing seasons, however, for the Bible teaches us in Ecclesiastes:

He has made everything beautiful in its time.
He has also set eternity in the human heart;
yet no one can fathom what God has done from
beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better
for people than to be happy and to do good while they live.
Ecclesiastes 3:11-12

Photo Credit

Linking up today with:

Joan at The Grace Cafe

and with Duane at

8 thoughts on “Changing Seasons

  1. Sherrey,
    There is a certain comfort and connection in the changing of the seasons as Ecclesiastes teaches us. And I had to chuckle at your “retirement” schedule. I feel like I’ve never been busier or happier since I “retired”. Actually,I think of it as transitioning vs retiring. Thank you for a lovely post!

    Like

    • Kathy,
      Your words, “a certain comfort and connection,” resonated with me this morning. I’m glad you could chuckle at my schedule — and I can only imagine yours. I too have never been busier or happier, and it’s because we’re doing what we’re called to do. I’m even launching into a little editing and proofing on the side. You’ll see me new blog soon! 🙂

      Like

  2. Some days I wonder if I could handle all that rain…but it’s probably like someone else wondering how they could handle all the snow and cold we get!

    So grateful you are filling your days with His work, friend. Retirement looks great on you!

    Like

    • Don’t forget I moved here from the south where we didn’t get such a constant rain, and at least most days in the rainy season only gift us with drizzle and mist. However, at first, I wondered at my own ability to cope. Then I began to gaze around me at all the green ALL THE TIME — lush forests, my own yard, parks overflowing with green — and I knew He’d given me a gift I could handle. Ahh, Nikki, “filling [my] days with His work,” that’s what I want for myself in order to hopefully fill someone else’s day too. I thought in retirement I would stop taking on “projects,” but I’m not cut that way or, let’s say, He didn’t cut me that way! 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m glad you’re enjoying your hard earned summer days! It sounds like you’re busy with all kinds of great activities. How is your brother-in-law? I love that verse, when life is complicated, and it often is, it’s wonderful to be reminded that we were created to enjoy and do good.

    Like

    • Beck, thanks for your encouraging comments about my post. You asked about my brother-in-law. It grows sadder by the days. He is now in nursing care (a very good place) as he is immobile, incontinent, can’t feed or clothe himself, and doesn’t know any of us. His speech is garbled so communication, if any, is very difficult. Our sister-in-law feeds him at each meal, and last trip Bob and I shared that privilege of feeding Jim. We now see why she does it — you feel that you have really spent time with Jim during this time, as long as he isn’t fighting you! 🙂 Thanks so much for asking, Beck. You are a true sister in Christ.

      Like

Comments are closed.