Five Minute Friday: Graceful

Remember how hard it was in school when the teacher said to get out your paper and pencil, and then told you what you had to write on that piece of paper?

Not at Lisa-Jo’s on Friday mornings!

Yep, we can write anything we want about one word (her choice) for five minutes.  No changes, no corrections, no backtracks.  And when we’re finished, we link up on her blog to meet new friends and find old ones visiting too.  Want to come along?

Today’s word:  graceful.

GO!

Graceful always brings to mind a lithesome beauty dancing her way across a stage.  Or a piece of music composed at some early age by a young Mozart or Chopin.  Or a poem written by a Maya Angelou or Walt Whitman.

Graceful never seemed to fit me.  Even though my dad’s nickname for me was Grace, graceful wasn’t the reason he tagged me with it.

As a growing child and teenager, I was the most ungraceful creature in our family.  Born at a hefty weight, among my cousins I was the one with stringy mousey brown hair, wide-spaced teeth.  The one whose mother shopped for her clothes in the “chubbette” department (seriously, who thought that up?).  And the one who had to wear corrective shoes.

Add to that the ability to fall down at will (not really — things just happened) or to hit every door frame along the hallway was my greater talent.  I’d call that clumsy, not graceful.

And then one day I stumbled upon the words in 2 Corinthians 12:9:

Photo Credit

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee:
for my strength is made perfect in weakness.
Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities,
that the power of Christ may rest upon me.
2 Corinthians 12:9
(King James, Cambridge Version)

STOP!

Note:  Image and Scripture added after 5 minutes. 

Linking with Lisa-Jo
and my Five Minute Friday friends at

Five Minute Friday

