Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom (A Review)

Having agreed with my husband that we really did not need to go to the library book sale last July, we ended up there anyway.  Bags in hand, we began to walk the aisles of tables and began filling our bags.

Each had selected more books than we should.  Considering that we’d moved box loads of books from his brother’s home, why did we think we should buy more?  Oh, yes . . . support your local library.

I snuck in one more pass along a particularly fascinating table, and there it sat.  A talking book!  It literally spoke to me.

“You need to read me.”

I laughed at myself imagining such an unlikely experience.  But it came again.

“You should buy me.  I’m only $1.50.”

Photo Credit

OK, I thought — I’ll buy you and picked up a copy of Mitch Albom’s Have a Little Faith: A True Story.  I’m so glad I did.

Albom has written the story of two very different and diverse men of God.  The first and the one Albom knows best is his 81-year old childhood teacher, a Jewish rabbi.

The second is the unlikely leader of a church in a ghetto.  A convicted drug addict and dealer, thief and the list goes on, Henry found his way to the Lord, or perhaps the Lord found him.

For Albom, the most confounding part of this story is the rabbi’s request that when he dies, Albom eulogize him.  Think of having to do this for someone you haven’t seen in years, someone you don’t know very well since your childhood days in the Jewish school.  It is a matter of getting acquainted, and Albom travels weekly to meet with the rabbi and hear his story.

At the same time, he’s trying to allay his suspicions about the pastor and his church, dedicated to serving the homeless, the wrecked, the indigent — in  a building without a roof or heat, and all this on a non-existent source of funds.  So just what is this pastor up to?  Albom determines to find out.

Between spending time with both men, Albom sees himself learning things he never expected to learn or to experience in this life.  He learns that it’s all about believing in something bigger than yourself.

A charming and often funny story about faith, love for your fellow-man, and the diversity yet commonality of the various faiths of our world.

Read an excerpt

