Last Remnants of Summer

As summer turns into fall, gray skies and rain have crawled back into the Pacific NW along with cooler temperatures.  Despite not wanting to let go of those 80 straights days of sun, blue sky and warmth, the fall weather is not that hard to welcome, somehow cozy and comforting.

However, as I look outside my windows, the last remnants of summer still flash their bright colors, and I am thankful for their brightness against the gray.

686.  The pale pink fuchsia that persists in blooming.

686.  The white loosestrife, or as we call it goose walking, that still holds it head high.

687.  Those last bright blossoms on the impatiens.

As the Bible tells us, there is a season for everything under God’s heaven, and these too will soon fade and slip away.  And yet within a few short months, new green shoots of certain plants will push through the dirt bringing new life.  And for those months of rest we are thankful.

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens.
Ecclesiastes 3:1 (NIV)

And to continue giving thanks this morning:

688.  The smell of rain.
689.  Needs met among family and friends.
690.  The life of Alec Bates (24) gone too soon but with His Father.
691.  For all those who loved Alec and his family.
692.  Freedom to worship.
693.  Time with church family Saturday and Sunday.
694.  Special friends who show their concern.
695.  My husband’s gift of making applesauce, apple butter and pear butter to fill the freezer for winter.
696.  Our pastor’s gifts of ministry and preaching.
697.  The continuing influx of young families into our church.
698.  My constant companion, Maggie, the magnificent kitty.
699.  More information uncovered about my dad’s family.

If you’d like to learn more about counting your gifts, hop on over to Ann Voskamp’s for Multitudes on Mondays.

4 thoughts on “Last Remnants of Summer

  1. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen loosestrife, I can see why it’s called goose step though. 🙂 I wonder if it can grow down here. It is very beautiful. I love your list. Reading people’s 1000 gifts posts is always a wonderful reminder of how incredibly God blesses us all each day even in the midst of trials.

    Like

    • I don’t know why loosestrife wouldn’t grow in CA — it doesn’t need much care. And it can get out of hand if you don’t keep a close eye on its reproductive talents. 🙂 Isn’t God just so amazing in how He blesses us? I don’t know that I deserve all the goodness He sends my way.

      Like

    • Nothing better than curling up on the sofa or in your favorite chair with knitting or good books. I love them both! Have a good week.

      Like

Comments are closed.