Raised Right: How I Untangled My Faith from Politics by Alisa Harris (A Review)

Recently, in a contest hosted by WaterBrook Multnomah, I was the recipient of a copy of Alisa Harris’s Raised Right: How I Untangled My Faith from Politics.

Based on the synopsis given at WaterBrook’s web site, I didn’t think I would enjoy reading Raised Right.  And in fact, initially I had a hard time getting into the book.

But suddenly, something about Harris’s writing style caught my attention — her likeability, her readability, and her veracity in telling her story.

Soon, I’m really enjoying getting to know who Alisa Harris is, where she has been, where she has come to, and what her plans for the future are.

Packed with honesty and peppered with wit and wisdom, Harris represents those in her generation who find themselves battling culture wars and looking for a way to move forward.  Based on their upbringing and the examples set before them by their parents and church groups, these young adults represent political misfits of all shapes, sizes and colors.

Harris has tackled a topic not known to exist to many in our society, and has brought awareness to readers of a variety of age groups and social communities of an existent problem in our young adults of today.

Kudos to Alisa Harris for a job well done!

* * *

Read an excerpt.
About Alisa Harris.

