Losing Focus

I have a continual struggle.  Well, I have many of them, all relatively small compared to others’ struggles in life.  But one in particular bothers me.

I struggle with losing focus. 

And no, it’s not a problem with my vision.

It’s my letting the outside world take over
my focus on Jesus.

My heart’s desire is to be continually focused on Him.
But . . .

Memories of young motherhood offer a good way to describe it.  I remember how when I would just have everything ready to tackle a chore, or prepare a meal, or to get a breather . . . there would be a cry, a question, a complaint, a something!

Couldn’t I just get one thing done without being interrupted?  And it seemed I never could.

Well, today those interruptions are grown up interruptions . . . the computer, social media, my writing life, still the household tasks.  And I let them get in the way of my relationship with Jesus.  In the way of taking the time to spend a few minutes with Him each day.

In Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, today’s devotional speaks to this very issue:

Do not be discouraged by the difficulty of keeping your focus on Me.  I know that your heart’s desire is to be aware of My Presence continually.  This is a lofty goal; you aim toward it but never fully achieve it in this life.

* * *

You live in a world that has been rigged to distract you.  Each time you plow your way through the massive distractions to communicate with Me, you achieve a victory.”

[Scriptures for today’s devotional in Jesus calling are Romans 8:33-34 and Hebrews 4:14-16]

What a comfort it is to know Jesus understands!  Oh, this doesn’t in any way give me permission to ignore the need to communicate or spend time with Him . . . it is His way of letting me know He sees my struggle, and He loves me in spite of my struggle.

Photo Credit

Do you struggle with losing your focus on Him?  If so, would you share how you handle this?

2 thoughts on “Losing Focus

    • Anita, I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. It is comforting to learn that others suffer this struggle of maintaining focus. Yes, oh Jesus, help me to get better!

      Like

Comments are closed.