A Time of Thanksgiving

It was a dare, like a love dare of sorts, and I take it
one clear November morning. It is the beginning of
list season. Lists of holiday menus, handmade
projects, have-to-buys.

She dares me, and I don’t blink. Could I write
a list of a thousand things I love? I read her line again.
To name one thousand blessings –
one thousand gifts – is that what she means?

I grab a scrap paper and flip it over.  Across the backside,
on a whim, a dare, I scratch it down: Gift List.
Not of gifts I want to buy but of gifts I already have.

-Excerpt from One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp

And this is where it began.  A time of thanksgiving.  

Not the day families gather to eat and share stories.  Not the day of football games.  Not just another holiday.

A true and thoughtful time of
thanks giving.

Me giving thanks for all the gifts in my life.

No, I haven’t reached 1,000 gifts yet.  Perhaps I’m not as observant as I should be, or perhaps I cherish each gift a little too long and therefore count slower.

The one thing I know and know for certain is

my life is richer for the counting,
for the awareness the counting brings to my life.

706.  Droplets of rain on the fallen leaves.
707.  Sounds of rain and wind signaling a change in the days and nights.
708.  Coolness of the mornings.
709.  Whispers of “I love you’s” as we tuck in for a night’s sleep.
710.  Morning devotionals as a couple.
711.  Writing friends who continually encourage and support.
712.  A two-year old asking “Zesus” to take away our sadness.
713.  Talking with a friend recovering from knee surgery.
714.  Learning that friends in Sandy’s path are unharmed.
715.  Meeting up with moms from MOPS and sharing their stories.
716.  My hand in His.

If you’d like to learn more about counting your gifts or Ann Voskamp’s book, One Thousand Gifts, hop on over to Multitudes on Mondays.

6 thoughts on “A Time of Thanksgiving

  1. I love Anne Voskamps book!! It was such a different style writing than I had ever experienced. I too have started my “thankful” journal… not on my blog though that is a good idea as well! I haven’t gotten nearly as high as you have but like you mentioned Im hoping its because I just spend more time mulling over those things Im thankful for! Wish you the best with your thankful list! =)

    Like

    • Amanda, don’t you love it when you meet another Ann Voskamp fan? I do! It was a bit difficult at first to adjust to her writing style, but once I got into the rhythm it was something that really worked in that book. Wishing you many gifts over the coming days and weeks! Love your blog — I peeked!

      Like

      • Awww thanks for stopping by my blog! You are welcome any time!! I started this month of Nov. doing a thankfulness quick post each day and I am going to also be trying to keep up with blogging more regularly. I also perused through your blog and really enjoyed reading it! Wish you and yours the best holiday time!! God bless!

        Like

  2. Pingback: November blessings, counting them more than twice « Dr. Sherry E. Showalter – "Keepin It Real"

  3. Beautiful list. I started out the year counting my blessings. Not sure how far I got, but somewhere along the way it became hard. I am going to pick this back up again, starting over, on Thanksgiving Day! Blessings to you my friend.

    Like

    • Barbie, good to see you! I’ve been so discombobulated (if that’s a word) lately. We still are traveling every three weeks to help caregive with Bob’s brother, I’ve got a 3-week old cold, and other health issues I’m dealing with . . . and there’s never enough time for planning and writing my blogs, working on my book, and reading others’ blogs gets pushed to the bottom of my stack. I’ve missed the reading, but a girl can do only so much. So glad you came by today . . . needed to see your smile and to have some encouragement — you did both!

      Like

Comments are closed.