See | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
SEE

BEGIN.

Such a small word. Only three letters, and two of them the same. S – E – E.

And yet, those three letters hold so much.

With our eyes open, we can see all that happens around us.

With our eyes closed, we can see through our mind’s eye and let our imaginations see what can be, expectations can be dreamed of, and tomorrows can be planned.

With our hearts open, we can see God’s love, His plan for our lives, His hopes for us.

When I get caught up in the world’s sorrows and woes on the news, I see heartache and sadness that overwhelms. I see hurting people. I see opportunities to serve and if not physically or financially able, I see the opportunity to pray.

When I see my neighbors and church community in need, I see service open for action.

There is so much to see in the vast world around us, God’s world, that we should never want for ways to serve Him and His people. With eyes open or closed, those needs don’t change.

What can you see today that calls you to service?

STOP

Boy reading Bible

“Open my eyes that I may see…” Psalm 119:18 (NIV)

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

5 minute friday

 

8 thoughts on “See | Five Minute Friday

  1. I see “see” in a seed as in your blog title. I see that God has given you seeing eyes. And I see a mes-see kitchen because I’ve been sitting too long. My act of service right now is to clean it. 🙂

    Visiting from FMF.

    Like

    • Sandra, thanks for stopping by. You certainly gave me a chuckle with your “mes-see kitchen,” one of which exists here too. Even in retirement, I’d rather be doing anything but cleaning the kitchen. 🙂 I appreciate your gracious comments on my post. Come again!

      Like

  2. What a beautiful post! I love the way you write about how we can “see” things whether our eyes be open or closed. How great it is to serve the Lord and be part of his divine plan.

    Like

    • Thanks, Barbie! Beauty surrounds us if we’re only open and aware. Yes, I changed it again. Wanted something simpler, less cluttered, for His glory only. There is a sidebar hiding to the left if you click on the three bars, but it isn’t out there to distract. I also just updated my writing blog at Sherrey Meyer, Writer (http://sherreymeyer.com). This is the year to get serious about the book, and I wanted something there that looked crisp, clean, and professional. Let me know what you think, Czarina of Design!

      Like

Comments are closed.