Encouragement | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
ENCOURAGEMENT

BEGIN.

Encouragement. Music to my ears as an adult. Lacking in my world as a child. I grew up thinking everything I did was wrong. Totally imperfect is how I saw myself.

It was only after leaving home for college that I began, in small ways, to realize I had worth. Professors praised my work, both inside and outside of class. I was elected to positions within our class and in my dorm. I knew firsthand what it was like to be liked. All because they encouraged me along the path.

But it wasn’t until recent years that I began to understand the power of God’s encouragement. I was asked to lead a MOPS program and share my faith journey. I knew exactly what verse to draw on and share with the moms in our group.

I spoke honestly about my childhood, the verbal and emotional abuses, the lack of encouragement. And then I shared how I tried not to be that parent my mother was.

And then I spoke about the power of two of my favorite verses, 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (ESV):

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect
in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses,
so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Reading or hearing these words always reminds me that the Great Encourager is always with me. Whatever I attempt, whatever I write, whatever I say, whatever comes my, God is always with me absorbing my weaknesses to increase His power through His grace to me.

Sure, I don’t always succeed at everything I try in this life, but knowing that God is with me, that He has my back provides the encouragement I need to keep showing up when He offers me new opportunities.

STOP

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

5 minute friday

 

8 thoughts on “Encouragement | Five Minute Friday

  1. I’m visiting from FMF, and you know, I think I mistook the prompt today for “Why your words matter,” but the cool thing is, it’s so tied in with encouragement that it’s a good mistake 🙂 Because as I’m reading your words here, I’m seeing how your heart to encourage and tell your story is at least one of the “whys” of your words. They matter in this way, in many ways I don’t know. But it’s a blessing to read them today.

    Like

    • Welcome, Amber, and I’m glad you dropped by from FMF. I dropped in on your blog after reading your comment here, and I’ve left a comment on your post for you. You’ll have to read it there! I’m glad you felt blessed after reading my post. I think Lisa-Jo’s 5-minute challenge is a great writing exercise, and I’m glad you’re there. I hope to see you around more.

      Like

    • It seems there were far too many of us who didn’t have a good childhood. God has made the difference for me, and I know that I have healed from most of it now as I write my memoir. There are still a couple of hurdles to cross but know Him as my Encourager makes all the difference.

      Like

  2. I lacked in the encouragement department as a child. Carried much heartache into my adult life. I am so thankful God has come to encourage my heart, and send others around me to encourage me. Blessings!

    Like

Comments are closed.