Write | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
WRITE

BEGIN.

Today Lisa-Jo tells us to write about “WRITE” for five full minutes, full-out, and I think, “If she only knew.”

For the month of January, I participated in a challenge hosted by Jeff Goins of Goins Writer. Jeff even established a Facebook group where the participants gather to support, encourage, share accountability and make new friends. The challenge? WRITE 500 words each day.

The 500 words can be for a blog post, a letter to someone, perhaps a book you are drafting, anything but emails and Tweets and other social media.

WRITING is my passion. It’s my life, and I was already WRITING something almost every day, but what I’ve dreamed of forever is publishing a book. My dad was in printing and publishing, and I do believe it’s in my genes. I want to WRITE every day to complete that first draft.

A day without writing is a day of lackluster ordinariness. WRITING is something I can share, something that heals my hurts, something that is who I am, something that connects me to others.

However, what I learned through Jeff’s challenge is that often a day doesn’t offer the opportunity to WRITE and that’s OK. You simply move on to tomorrow. But it’s always there niggling at the back of my mind that I really needed to WRITE something, anything that particular; and usually before going to bed at night, I would have written something!

LESSON LEARNED: By WRITING in the My 500 Words Challenge for 31 days in January, a new habit has evolved and now I naturally think about what WRITING I’m going to do with the beginning of each day. AND the challenge has now moved into February. Want to join? Contact me and I’ll add you to our Facebook group, My 500 Words.

STOP.

(Note: Links and images added after 5-minute session.)

pen and paper

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

5 minute friday

 

8 thoughts on “Write | Five Minute Friday

  1. a day without writing indeed is missing something – but even worse is a day without finding something to write about, finding the messages God leaves for us in the daily! I am so glad you took that writing challenge – and are building a dream!

    Like

    • Ah, “the messages God leaves for us in the daily.” Beautiful words, so meaningful when you stop to think that all we are, all we do is about the messages God leaves for us. Thanks for visiting my blog.

      Like

    • Dawn, thanks for stopping by! Visited your blog and love your About Me page. 🙂 I love your words “because a writer has to live, live, live in order to have something to write, write, write!” Have a great weekend and I’ll be seeing you around.

      Like

  2. I’ve been trying to get inspired to write about writing for FMF, so I am back and forth between 500 Words on Facebook, reading blogs, and reading from FMF. Sooner or later I’m bound to get inspired. I love the comment above about “finding messages God leaves for us daily!”

    Like

    • Isn’t that a wonderful way to think about God communicating with us, and likely a good prompt for some writing too? I know what you mean about going here, there, and everywhere in this busy world of the Internet. It’s had to keep up! Glad you stopped by.

      Like

Comments are closed.