Is His Grace Enough for You?

Several years ago I was honored when asked to speak to our Mothers of Preschoolers group on the topic of grace. I scratched my head though as I prepared, wondering what to say to mothers from all walks of life about grace.

And then I turned to prayer for an answer knowing that God’s answer might not be the one I hoped for. But with His answer came the following verses from 2 Corinthians 12:7-10:

[Paul speaking to the Corinthians] … Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

As I began to think on the words, I could not help but believe that the message here is that God is enough. Enough in all the circumstances of my life. And at that time, some circumstances I faced seemed overwhelming.

But if His power was “made perfect in weakness,” then my weakness fed His grace in my life. The weakness I struggled with made Him so powerful that He bestowed His grace on me abundantly, thereby restoring my strength to eliminate the weakness in my life. Confusing? I know–sort of.

In attempting to make this clear in my presentation, I searched the Internet and my Bible for an explanation or commentary that translated into today’s language. The quoted material below is what I found that seemed to fit my needs for the talk I was scheduled to give:

God’s grace working in us supplies the sufficiency whereby we may abound to every good work. I like to call grace ‘God’s enoughness.’ By this I mean that God is enough for us no matter what the situation we face.” ~ Pastor David Reagan, Antioch Baptist Church of Knoxville, TN [emphasis mine]

What comfort those words bring when in need of strength and a lifting up in times of trial, “God’s enoughness.”

Q4U: Have you experienced “God’s enoughness?” Is His grace enough for you? 

2 thoughts on “Is His Grace Enough for You?

Comments are closed.