Hard to Choose | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
CHOOSE

BEGIN.

Sometimes it’s hard to choose the better path.

Not a path through the forest or along the coastline, although that can be hard too. I’m talking about choosing the better path in life.

Over the last week, I became overwhelmed with life and its many demands. I’ve been retired since 2006 and that rules out the demands of small children scurrying around my feet.

The demands are the result of suddenly realizing how much my husband does around our home inside and out to keep the home fires burning. Since December 25th, he has been in severe pain resulting from a herniated disc. If only the insurance company would come through with their prior authorization!

Lately, I’m doing everybody’s chores plus trying to write a book, participate online (yes, social media is a drain anyway!), keep our pace at church, and take my husband to two of three band rehearsals each week (I carry the 25 lb. horn plus case!).

On top of that, I’ve struggled with a health issue myself. Suddenly, I felt I couldn’t do it all any more.

I stopped in the middle of what I was doing and prayed.

Listening in the quiet of my writing cave, God told me what to do and I did it. He said, “You have to choose.” Clearly. He. said. it. “You have to choose.” That was it. It was up to me to choose.

I chose to disconnect from social media (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+, Pinterest) in order to make husband, home and the book I’m writing priorities.

Do you know how freeing that felt? Amazing relief!

And I haven’t looked back because I chose the right and better path.

(Image added after five minutes were up)

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

5 minute friday

 

