Paint Green! | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
PAINT

BEGIN.

“I want to paint the entire house green” were the words spoken by my mom to my dad.

I distinctly remember his questioning look. “The entire house green?”

“Yes, just the inside, you understand. Paint every room green.”

Understand Mom was not before her time with an understanding of where our environment was headed some decades down the road. She just loved the color GREEN. And she wanted every room in the house painted a shade of green.

Dad loved her very much, and I applaud him for loving her enough that he went off to the paint store and brought home nothing but green paint chips.

And he painted every room in that house a different shade of green. Every. Room. In. The. House!

Before you choose your favorite color in a differing shade for every room in your house and paint them, let me warn you that Mom quickly grew bored with green.

Mom’s love of green was rooted in her Scotch-Irish roots. Her beautiful auburn hair and coloring that bore freckles in the sun, along with Mom’s eyes a lovely green that sparkled on good days and flashed fire on bad days– all convinced her green was HER color.

I don’t know but I think Dad felt that paint was an inexpensive way to show his love for Mom and without a lavish income and reserve funds waiting to be spent on expensive gifts, this was his way of painting his love into her life.

(Image added after five minutes were up)

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

5 minute friday

 

12 thoughts on “Paint Green! | Five Minute Friday

  1. Lovely image of love! My parents did the same thing in their house. Though at that time I think it was my dad’s idea and mostly because he bought too much paint for the one room they were planning on painting. Not wanting to waste it (good old Dutch man), he painted every room green. 🙂 Visiting here from FMF! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting this morning! I didn’t think there could ever be two homes painted in green in every room. You have proven my thoughts wrong … and I’m smiling from ear to ear! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.