So Much Glue! | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
GLUE

BEGIN.

I chuckled when I saw the word prompt, “glue.” In the 68 years of my life, I’ve seen a vast array of kinds of glue. Today I can actually walk into my husband’s garage workshop and find most of them there.

For me, school started in 1952. Every student was to have a bottle of mucilage with a rubber tip for spreading. Mucilage wasn’t really a long-lasting glue because it, like the things you were gluing, could eventually crack.

Then came Elmer’s School Glue, which has now morphed into glue sticks, colored glue, and likely I’m not aware of all its derivations to date.

In the intervening years, there have been others: Super Glue, Krazy Glue, glues for wood, fabric and plastics. Likely, there is a glue for every purpose or need.

Among my husband’s favorites is Gorilla Glue, which advertises it will hold anything together. Make sure you don’t want to separate them! It won’t happen. Coming in a close second is rubber cement on hubby’s list.

I have a favorite glue too.

His name is Jesus, Son of God. 

There are times when cracks appear in my life.

Some through no fault of mine.

Others definitely my fault.

Lately, the cracks evolve from heart hurts–my husband’s illness, the death of a dear brother-in-law, a friend whose baby boy came much too early but thankfully went home from NICU yesterday. This morning we learned a dear friend has passed away. We lost our pastor to retirement. It seemed likely this would be the “winter of our discontent.”

UNTIL … God, through Jesus, glued our heart hurts and cracks and our physical cracks back together with His healing power, His grace, and His unconditional love. It works every time!

I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of the age. ~~Matthew 28:20 (MSG)

(Scripture and images added after five minutes were up)

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

5 minute friday

 

4 thoughts on “So Much Glue! | Five Minute Friday

  1. I love this post! I enjoyed the literal part about the different kind of glues…and, yes, I remember mucilage, too (yuck!)…and, even more so, I enjoyed the spiritual part about Jesus being the glue that holds our hearts together when they are breaking. Like you, we have experienced a lot of loss within a short time. Praise God for His healing power and for Jesus…the glue that holds us all together! Very nice post! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.