How Close? | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Lisa-Jo’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
CLOSE

BEGIN.

A surprise visit on Thursday. Our daughter-in-law came by with our great-grands, Kylie and Everett aka Bud. We don’t see them, Kylie and Bud, very often. So seldom in fact we hardly know each other.

It often surprises me how faint the memory is of our last time together. They seem unsure of us, and their hesitation to come close is something we work at each time we’re together.

Kylie

Kylie

No matter where we are–at Nonna and Papa’s (our son and his wife), someone else’s home, outdoors in a park–it’s always the same. In fact, while getting ready for our Easter family gathering, Kylie talked with her mama:

“Will Grandma Sherrey be there?”

“Yes, she will, and Grandpa Bob too.”

“I like Grandma Sherrey but I’ll be shy at first. It takes me awhile.”

I smiled as our granddaughter, Alyssa, shared this. In a way, I believe Kylie hoped her mama would tell me. That way I would know why she wasn’t coming close right away. After we had eaten and the children were playing outside, Kylie came and tapped me on the arm, “Grandma, can you come outside and play with me?”

My heart nearly burst with the closeness suddenly blossoming that Easter afternoon. She wanted me close. I wanted to be close with her. Kylie brought us together in closeness that day.

And again yesterday the same thing happened…given time, Kylie came close.

This reminded me how often I stray from God’s presence in my life, walking at a distance, not close. He wants me to draw closer and be close with Him because He loves me no matter what is happening in my life. I need to practice my God closeness like a little child. Like Kylie practices when we’re together.

(Scripture and images added after five minutes were up)

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

5 minute friday

 

10 thoughts on “How Close? | Five Minute Friday

  1. “Play with me” is always such a beautiful request. I know as a parent I forget that sometimes when I’m busy, tired, or stressed. Grandparents remind us parents. Thanks! And blessings to you and yours—especially your adorable granddaughter.

    Like

    • Hi, David, and thanks for stopping by and happy FMF! Those three words, “play with me,” are music to my ears. Unfortunately, when my son was growing up, I was a single mom and time to play together was precious and I didn’t do it nearly often enough. This little girl is so bright and such a viable personality when she comes out of her “shy shell.” I must pray that God will find a way for us to draw closer more often.

      Like

    • Dolly, thanks for your generous words. Interactions with family, especially where families are of the blended kind in several directions, are tenuous at times. We are so grateful for whatever the Lord provides for us in our times together. And blessings to you and yours as well. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.