What Are Your Plans?

We live in a society constantly making plans.

Plans for tomorrow, or the weekend; the next vacation trip; the next school holiday; or for when the next child will get braces.

Or perhaps you are making plans for your first baby, or second, or third or…maybe you’re making plans for your first baby to head off to college or get married.

Maybe you’re nearing that time when your plans include retirement and empty nesting. I’ve been there and done that. It can be scary plan making time.

Whatever the plans you’re making, have you stopped to think how God feels about your plans?

Or does that really matter?

After all, the plans you’re making are secular in nature, just worldly plans that don’t have much, if anything, to do with your faith journey or spiritual life. Right?

Wrong!

In Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NIV), we read God’s thoughts on the plans for our lives:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Clearly, God already has a plan of action “to give you a future and a hope.” These plans are peaceful and good.

And then God gives us something to do in this planning. We are to call upon Him and pray to Him, and God promises to listen. We are to seek and find Him by searching with every beat of our hearts.

I don’t know about you but all too often I charge ahead making plans without a thought of calling upon my God and praying about my plans.

Often He speaks to me about plans He has for me, and I choose to push them aside without giving them any consideration.

Defiant? Yes, I suppose I am. Not in an angry sort of defiance. More like an ignoring defiance. Wanting to be in control of my life I don’t have time for someone else to plan my life.

Is it possible I might make a mistake in my planning? Yep, possible it is! That’s an all important why in my turning to God so that He can be a part of my plans and I can be a part of His plans for me.

How about you? Making any plans lately? Including God in your life planning? Listening to Him?

Or perhaps you have a thought or comment on this post. Please share below. A good discussion can be invigorating!


Linking up with:

Kelli Woolford @ Unforced Rhythms

And with Joan @ Sharing His Beauty

Sharing His Beauty

4 thoughts on “What Are Your Plans?

  1. We do get easily carried away in plans…I’m so guilty of just going and doing what I think is best. Lately, I’ve tried paying attention to what is going on around me more. If something doesn’t work out, doors are slamming one after another, I know God is stepping in and telling me no. I’ve also learned that just because I have an idea or feel a plan forming, doesn’t mean I have to carry it out right then. God takes his time with these things and provides the best point at which to make your move.

    Like

    • Kelli, thanks for hosting Unforced Rhythms, a wonderful place of sharing and love. Glad you stopped by and we humans are always challenged by giving over control, aren’t we?

      Like

Comments are closed.