Reach | Five Minute Friday

It’s Friday — time to write with absolute abandon.
Why? Because it’s Five Minute Friday at Kate’s and
that’s what hundreds of us do on Friday.

So time to start the ticker and write for
a full five minutes full-out without editing or correcting
on just one word —
REACH

BEGIN.

I see the word “reach,” and many things come to mind ~

the outstretched arms of a small child reaching for its mama or papa;

the outreach programs operated by our church home;

the reach of an arm and hand to welcome another;

the shortness of my arms defying my reach for items on high shelves;

the reach of the mission field into our world;

the reach of joined prayer;

the reach of a gentle word;

the reach of a teacher’s kindness to the struggling pupil;

our reach to place our hands in God’s hand;

~ and I’m certain you can think of others.

But there is only one reach encompassing all the reaches in my list and yes, even rising above them. The reach of God’s loving arms.

His arms reach to the farthest and often least inhabited places in our world.

His arms reach to the poorest of the poor and the homeless of our country.

His arms reach to the hurting and the lost.

His arms reach to the needs of those suffering from abuses unknown to our society.

His arms reach to wherever He is needed.

Where does reach take you?

He will stand and shepherd his flock in the strength of the Lord, in the majesty of the name of the Lord his God. And they will live securely, for then his greatness will reach to the ends of the earth.

Micah 5:4 (NIV)

STOP.

Image and Scripture added after writing time completed.

Lots of folks come together to do this every Friday.
Want to read what some of them have written today?
Click on the image below and enjoy!

Five-Minute-Friday-4

10 thoughts on “Reach | Five Minute Friday

    • Connie, thanks for stopping by and leaving such encouragement. I love the simple things of life and I give God the credit for how this rolled out today. Thanks for letting me know it works!

      Like

  1. Thank you for sharing. At 4 foot 11, I am short in stature and also cannot reach items on high shelves. As I was reading your words my youngest daughter reached for me and climbed up in my lap. Thank you for your description of the word reach, and Thank you for the reach of God’s unending love. Have a lovely Friday!

    Like

  2. Kate always chooses such strong, evocative words, and you are so good to publicize them. RIght now I’m reaching beyond the preface to my memoir toward the opening scene.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful post…reminding us of the nearness of God. In the midst of the angst of our day, He is always there, holding us and walking with us. I feel like I just was given a word hug! Bless you. Stopped in from Five Minute Friday.

    Like

Comments are closed.